Sustainability

It’s finally here – the last day of classes. It’s a bittersweet time. Although I don’t have to worry about papers or tests anymore (save for the few I’ve been putting off), a lot of people I know are starting to leave for home. When you’re friends with a lot of faraway out-staters, chances are you won’t be able to see them during the summer. I myself am a Pennsylvania girl and I am definitely not looking forward to the drive home.

But, I shall prevail!

However, this blog post isn’t simply me whining about the 9+ hours I’ll have to drive (with nothing but my Darth Vadar GPS, my rabbit, a fridge, some clothes…). No, this post has a purpose. I’m here to pose one simple question:

What does sustainability mean?

Merriam-Webster defines sustainability as, “of, relating to, or being a method of harvesting or using a resource so that the resource is not depleted or permanently damaged”. But a lot of us guys & gals at Unity think that is just the bare-bones of sustainability, a simple foundation to build upon. When you think about it, there is so much more that can be done that is considered sustainable.

For my last media project at the Sustainability Office, I interviewed several students of differing majors, asking them to tell me what they think sustainability means. I got several answers and I have to thank them for taking the time to talk with me (I mean, finals week IS coming up). They all come from varying backgrounds and experiences, so it was really interesting to see what they had to say.


 
Personally, I think this is a fitting close for an end-of-the-semester project. This year has been a total blast and I’m super excited to see all the environmentally-minded and sustainable things Unity has planned for the future (and from what I hear, it’s A TON). But, sadly I can’t sit here all day and write hilarious blog posts. I got to worry about my Biology final coming up (don’t get me started on that) and the awesomely fantastic Beach Party happening tonight at the Student Center (yeah Gary & the Pacemakers!!).

Therefore, I bid you all adieu.

See you all on the flip-side!

Sam

Leave a Reply

About Sam

=D